A Daily Network publication
Explore the network
Insurance Capital Daily
Independent Intelligence on Insurance Investment
Monday, October 12, 2026The Morning Brief →Sign in
Capital Rules

NAIC reviews statutory treatment of life insurers' rated note feeders

Fund finance allocations rose to 1.9% of cash and invested assets in 2025 from 1.3%, per a Moody's survey of rated US life insurers.

At a glance

25-second brief
  • The NAIC is examining how rated note feeders should be treated under statutory reporting rules, according to Insurance Business America's account of a Moody's Ratings sector study.

  • Aggregate insurer allocations to fund finance rose to 1.9% of cash and invested assets in 2025 from 1.3% in 2024, a 0.6 percentage point increase, according to Moody's survey of rated US life insurers.

  • RNF ratings are typically assigned on a private letter basis, so the rating, its rationale and the underlying portfolio are not publicly disclosed.

The NAIC is examining how rated note feeders should be treated under statutory reporting rules, according to Insurance Business America's account of a Moody's Ratings sector study.

A rated note feeder is a special purpose vehicle that issues rated debt, typically senior and junior notes alongside an unrated equity tranche, and invests the proceeds in a private credit fund as a limited partner. That gives the insurer exposure to direct lending, infrastructure and asset-based finance through instruments that qualify as bonds under statutory accounting rules. Moody's finds RNFs are among the fastest-growing fund finance vehicles for US life insurers.

The capital difference between the two classifications has driven adoption, according to the report. A senior note rated A2 carries a 0.82% risk-based capital charge for a life insurer under NAIC rules, against 30% for a direct fund investment reported on Schedule BA — roughly 36 to one.

Aggregate insurer allocations to fund finance rose to 1.9% of cash and invested assets in 2025 from 1.3% in 2024, a 0.6 percentage point increase, according to Moody's survey of rated US life insurers.

That is a thin share of a large market. Private credit, defined broadly to include private placements and mortgage loans, accounted for an estimated 35% of US life insurance investments at year-end 2025, per Moody's. The NAIC's own estimate puts US insurers' private credit holdings at about $1.2 trillion at the same date, roughly 13% of cash and invested assets.

The disclosure gap inside the structure

RNF ratings are typically assigned on a private letter basis, so the rating, its rationale and the underlying portfolio are not publicly disclosed. Moody's notes that this limits regulators, counterparties and outside analysts from independently assessing credit quality, and that inconsistent statutory reporting across the industry can obscure the true scale of the exposure. The structures embed credit protection including subordination, overcollateralization and cash sweep triggers.

The review arrives as the NAIC extends what its capital rules reach. In September, as this publication reported, the Life Risk-Based Capital Working Group was instructed to develop a capital charge for cessions outside reciprocal jurisdictions; the NAIC's $1.2 trillion private-credit perimeter letter to Senator Warren put ratings and valuation reviews onto ceded books. As this publication argued in September, the general account's constraint is capital text, not yield — and the text governing a 30% versus 0.82% differential is now the subject of a review.

A senior note rated A2 carries a 0.82% risk-based capital charge for a life insurer under NAIC rules, against 30% for a direct fund investment reported on Schedule BA — roughly 36 to one.
Continue your research

Save this analysis and keep the funds you follow together in My Desk.

Sign in to save articles or follow funds.
More from Insurance Capital Daily
Capital Rules

Aegon shareholders approve redomiciling the insurer to New York

Shareholder approval clears a step toward moving the insurer's domicile but does not confirm completion.
Capital Rules

United Specialty and State National sue U.S. Bank over $14M in reinsurance trust principal

The complaint alleges the bank moved principal out of two 2021 reinsurance trusts after the grantor’s CEO requested $13.5 million and $580,000 described as income.
The Wrap

Tokio Marine, Schroders, IFC and BlueOrchard in $2bn fund launch

The Oct. 12 log entry gives a fund-level size but no individual commitments or strategy.
Elsewhere in the networkAll titles →
Every weekday · 6:30 a.m. ET

The Morning Brief

The latest from Insurance Capital Daily, in your inbox every weekday. Free.